View Full Version : Anyone on the HAMB from Dice Automotive in TAXAS?
Junkyard Dog 32
03-25-2004, 10:50 PM
The PONTIAC PRIESTESS (if you remember her...) is looking at doing business with them, and there is a substantial down payment being asked. I told her I'd see if anyone in HAMB-land knows of 'em.
BTW... She doesn't have a computer at home, and the place where she works restricts internet use.
Please, let me know if these guys are legit.
Thanks,
JOEhttp://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
Junkyard Dog 32
03-26-2004, 02:37 PM
Here's a list of the floor pans they are dealing in.
What it is, is someone looking for original floor pans and braces. They'll come to your place, take out your floor and install a custom one. Then, they keep your floor and braces to make paterns.
-->EBAY AUCTIONS<-- (http://cgi6.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewSellersOtherItems&userid=sexnspe ed&include=0&since=-1&sort=3&rows=50)
If it's legit, cool, but they're asking for a $500.00 down payment, and she's just wondering if anyone ever heard of this outfit.
If you have time, check it out. Lemme know what your gut tells ya.
Thanks,
JOEhttp://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
Roothawg
03-26-2004, 02:43 PM
hmmmmm.....I would ask for some referrals first. If they are doing this full time I would want to tour the facility. I think that price included installation. Did'nt it?
Junkyard Dog 32
03-26-2004, 02:50 PM
Yeah. They just want the gennie floor, for paterns.
They'll come and build you a new floor, custom, then take your floor. So the next guys, down the line, get nice re-pop floor pans.
She knows that, and $1400.00 for a new floor and all new braces is a pretty good deal.
They say, they're trying to set up as many jobs as they can, so they can do them in one trip. That's alot of $500 down payments... know what I mean?
If it really IS someone looking to get into business, I don't wanna piss on their pillow, but it SURE is a good scam, if it is one.
I've worked in manufacturing plants. I know what it costs to have a die set made to press a floor pan. These guys would have to be millionaires.
And check out the other auctions this seller has won. Wheat pennies and shit. It, even, says "Great little GAL."
Are great little gals stamping floor pans, now?
Maybe I've been hearing too much about hijacked Ebay accounts... and, maybe not.
Just alot of ????????
JOEhttp://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
Boones
03-26-2004, 04:31 PM
I would want to talk to previous clients and see some examples of there work. Find out how they plan to brace the car from twisting or sagging. $1400 is to much if it is a butcher job.
sodbuster
03-26-2004, 04:35 PM
You may bring this back to the top on Monday or Tuesday. I think that everyone in Texas is on their way to the Round Up or are all ready there.
Chris Nelson
Kansas
Oh yea, you can edit the title still. Taxas?
CrazyDaddy
03-26-2004, 04:48 PM
Never heard of them. If you look at the negative post, they call a customer a MF. I would not recommend doing business with anyone who responds this way, regardless of the customer.
snapper
03-26-2004, 05:51 PM
Junkyard Dog 32 : This opportunity certainly sounds almost too good. I am not trying to talk you out of it , just looking at it at a different direction.
I looked at the E-Bay auction and came away with these observations. Location listed as TX. Sellers last three auctions won totaled just $13.75 for three positive feed backs. I ran the phone number given (580-230-1281 ) through an area code search and it come back , 230, a cell phone prefix from Durant Oklahoma. Web page not working, with no information (built on do it yourself software?). Must be paid for in advance with probably over a five week waiting period, so any kind of payment by a credit card or pay pal may not provide any added protection.
So please be careful and like others have said get impeccable references and talk to as many clients as possible in person . Good Luck H
Junkyard Dog 32
03-26-2004, 06:05 PM
Oops... Sorry for the mis-spelling.
And, thanks for all the input.
SNAPPER_ All those things struck me, but I thought the area code made it seem legit. I'd like to know what search you did.
The site not working seemed like a red flag, too. Then I thought of the Mad Fabricator's site... It didn't work, for a long time, either.
All things considered, I don't think she should do it, either.
JOEhttp://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
snapper
03-26-2004, 06:13 PM
Here is the one I used... http://www.melissadata.com/lookups/phonelocation.asp?number=5802301281&submit1=Proces s
Junkyard Dog 32
03-26-2004, 06:34 PM
Thanks...
That'll come in, handy.
JOEhttp://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.