View Full Version : Chopped 51 Merc for $9,500 ???
CharlieLed
03-04-2004, 09:05 PM
Here's an auction for what appears to be a sweet 51 Merc coupe for a buy-it-now price of only $9,500.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=6339&item=24647888 22
I have seen a few 'glass 34 Fords up for sale for only $7,500 as well...the common thread between all these auctions (besides the give-away prices) is that each has a "pre-approved bidder" clause...WTF ??? http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
52Chief
03-04-2004, 09:18 PM
And a Ferarri for $8,500 Ferrari (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=6212&item=24647875 95)
Went from selling Avon to high dollar cars? I smell something fishy here!
52Chief
03-04-2004, 09:19 PM
Well, a fake Ferrari, now that I read the auction, but still......
G V Gordon
03-04-2004, 09:20 PM
The Ferrari is a Z car copy.
SimonSez
03-04-2004, 09:22 PM
Scam city !!
Check out this thread ...
http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=UBB1&Number=320708
They are going after the deposit - "$3000 DUE IN 3 BUSINESS DAYS"
abe lugo
03-04-2004, 09:23 PM
How is anyone going to find it as 1954 Mercury Cougar??
Looks to be a good buy,, but too good to be true
Peter Pan of Chicago
03-04-2004, 10:13 PM
Real sweet Merc. Ya know, if it's too good to be true? Definately something fishy. http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
My buddy was looking to buy a 62 chevy the other night. Conv, 2x4 409 car for $8500.00. I talked him out of it. TP
I saw that merc on ebay the other night for $39000.00 I believe. These guys are stealing pictures hoping to snag just one sucker.
williebill
03-04-2004, 10:57 PM
NO WAY this is real.Even his feedback looks funny.This car would MAYBE have sold for this about 20 years ago.I remember decent chopped Mercs for well under 10K back in them days.This car looks too good.I hate liars and thieves. http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif
lefturn
03-04-2004, 11:02 PM
i send them an email to see if they will reply. i"ll fly there tommorrow for that deal. must be a scam
ray
I just tried to click on the link and it's now saying "invalid item"
If it was fake, they may have been descovered..
Rat..
Rocknrod
03-05-2004, 08:35 AM
I've been hearing alot about this stuff lately... pre-aproved bidders! Where they ask for credit and what not... http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
porknbeaner
03-05-2004, 09:27 AM
They come up invalid for me.
Maybe I don't have enough credit. http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
Or perhaps E bay just stopped another hustle.
I'm keepin my business right here, haven't been hustled by a fellow HAMBer yet, and don't ever expect it to happen.
CharlieLed
03-05-2004, 03:32 PM
I went back and looked for a number of these scam auctions and each has been pulled...I'd like to think that ebay is being proactive, or at the very least responsive to the complaints of bidders and sellers who are the victims of these scams.
There's always someone out there willing to take your money if you aren't careful...
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.