View Full Version : I need some help........
JamesG
02-19-2004, 12:13 AM
understanding this ad. Am I missing something here or this a scam......? I just dont get it? I guess thats whats owed on the car?
web page (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2461490826&category=60 57)
briggs&strattonChev
02-19-2004, 12:14 AM
link doesnt work
briggs&strattonChev
02-19-2004, 12:15 AM
you didnt put the web url in correctly cause it brings me to just http:// and nothing else
JamesG
02-19-2004, 12:16 AM
It's fixed!!!!!!! ..... http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
maybe it was a repo? or takin in as payment for something?
JamesG
02-19-2004, 12:23 AM
Thats what I'm thinking. Hell of a deal either way....But with all of the scams going on man I just don't know. There was a 57 Chevy BelAir hardtop on there a few months ago like this and they person selling it was in some odd ass country and the car had to be shippedm but she was VERY vague about answering my questions.......
briggs&strattonChev
02-19-2004, 12:32 AM
I dont understand what you are confused about. Just cause its cheap or what? Why do you think money is owed on the car?
Lionheart
02-19-2004, 12:36 AM
I emailed them and said i'd take it NOW for 7 grand, so we'll see if it's for real or not. http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
briggs&strattonChev
02-19-2004, 12:37 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Member since Nov-17-02 in Germany
[/ QUOTE ]
theres the stipulation,,,its in germany I believe
look at the feedback, all comments are in GERMAN
CheaterChris
02-19-2004, 12:53 AM
he is also selling a 2001 e class mercedes, for 10,000 kinda fishy....
and he has never sold a car before, Iwould watch out for this one
briggs&strattonChev
02-19-2004, 01:03 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Location: Best opportunity
United States
[/ QUOTE ]
why do people do that? is it too hard to give a state or city name? It DOES say united states so maybe the car is here and the sellers in germany?
and what does "HOLD ONLY FOR COLLECTION" mean?
34Hupmobile
02-19-2004, 10:31 AM
Its a scam. These folks use an email claiming that ebay needs to update or confirm your information. The email contains a couple of boxes for you to enter your user ID and password. A lot of people are gullible enough to enter their info and then click send. Now the bad guys have all the info they need to steal a user's ID. They prefer those with lots of postive feedback. The next step they take is to change the email address for the user so they can intercept their emails. Step 3 is the ad placement. Top dollar items are advertised at rock bottom prices. Usually requiring that a bidder be approved first. When someone asks to be approved the thief-in-waiting will pull the ad and email the inquirer an offer to ship the item with only a 50% down payment (by wire) and the balance a few days after delivery. Usually international shipping will be thrown in for free. Since the offer is made outside of ebay and the ad has been pulled there is no kind of buyer protection. Typically the location given will be Germany, Denmark or the Netherlands. Don't fall for it.
porknbeaner
02-19-2004, 11:03 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Invalid Item
The item you requested (2461490826) is invalid, still pending, or no longer in our database. Please check the number and try again. If this message persists, the item has either not started and is not yet available for viewing, or has expired and is no longer available.
[/ QUOTE ]
Looks like it just doesn't matter anymore. http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
Lionheart
02-19-2004, 05:37 PM
34 Hup, your right on, they want 25% wired to them and the car is in Denmark but they will pay part of the shipping. It's just a piece of bait. I suppose they get some fools that fall for it though and send them money. http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif http://www.jalopyjournal.com/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
JamesG
02-19-2004, 06:39 PM
Yea it's a scam...here's the email I got from him.....
Hello and thank you for your interest
I want to tell you a few words about the car.
First of all the car is fully restored and looks just like in the pictures.It is in imaculate condition and has no schrach on and hasn't been involved in any accident.
The motor run very well. This is a clasic car that has a lot of the original parts.
The title is clear ,it is not a salvage one.
The car belongs to my brother.He died last week in a bike accident.
The car is now in Denmark as my brother lived there.I am willing to sell it and shipp it to any of the UE countries or to US.I will not ship to any African,Asian or Eastern European countries.
I know that the price is low but i have no use for the car and I want to get back home as soon as i sell it.
I want to sell the car asap so I am willing to pay 25% of the shipping fees nomatter of the location.
I require a deposit of 2500USD.The money is a reservation for the car.First one who makes the deposit will be the buyer.I need the deposit to be sure that you want the car and in order to proceed with shipping and all the aditional export taxes.
I wait your further questions and i will provide any infos you need.
Thank you
Regards
briggs&strattonChev
02-21-2004, 12:01 AM
I got the EXACT same email too
There is no way to insure you get the car if you wire the seller money?
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.